2017 Hugo Awards

The winners of the 2017 Hugo Awards were announced at WorldCon 75 in Helsinki yesterday. Once again, women won all the fiction awards and Ada Palmer won the John W. Campbell award for best new writer. These are the fiction winners.

Best Novel
The Obelisk Gate, by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella
Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com publishing)

Best Novelette
“The Tomato Thief”, by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016)

Best Short Story
“Seasons of Glass and Iron”, by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press)

Looking at the detailed breakdown (PDF link) of the voting, it appears that the slates from the Sad/Rabid Puppies were well and truly trounced – Vox Day ended up below No Award, for example. N. K. Jennison won the Best Novel Hugo for the second year in a row and Seanan McGuire scored a hat trick, winning the Hugo, Nebula, and Locus awards this year.

Leave a Reply